Historical Background


The Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS), founded in October 1989, is an umbrella organization of physical societies in the Asia Pacific region. It aims to promote the advancement of knowledge in physics in the region, including research, application and teaching, especially through international collaboration.

There was a series of conferences, the Asia Pacific Physics Conference (APPC) starting from 1983. At the 3rd APPC in 1988, a group of physicists discussed promotion of regional collaboration in physics. In the following year, the organizing meeting was held in Hong Kong to establish AAPPS. The 1st Ordinary General Meeting established the constitution and bylaws at the 4th APPC in Seoul in August 1990. There was also the election for council members, and Professor C. N. Yang was elected as the first AAPPS President.

AAPPS Objectives
  1. 1

    To organize APPC and other meetings,

  2. 2

    To collaborate actively with other organizations including APS, EPS, UNESCO, IUPAP and others,

  3. 3

    To publish the Bulletin of AAPPS and Newsletters,

  4. 4

    To support cooperation in physics, such as the Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP) in Korea which is a headquarters of AAPPS currently,

  5. 5

    To encourage young scientists to do research in physics through, e.g. the C. N. Yang Award.

  1. 1

    Ordinary General Meeting (OGM)
    It consists of representatives from member societies. It is the highest body in establishing the constitution and bylaws, and also it elects council members. The OGM was held in each APPC for decades.

  2. 2

    Council Meeting
    It consists of elected members in OGM, President-appointed members, and the ex-president, up to 15 members. The President-appointed members are the secretary, a voting member, and the Treasurer, and a non-voting member. The term of council members is three years, and it elects the President for their term.

Past Presidents
  • 1stPresident
    C. N. Yang (Hong Kong)

    August 11, 1990 - July 2, 1994

  • 2ndPresident
    Michiji Konuma (Japan)

    July 2, 1994 - December 31, 1997

  • 3rdPresident
    Chen Jiaer (Beijing)

    January 1, 1998 - December 31, 2000

  • 4thPresident
    Won Namkung (Korea)

    January 1, 2001 - December 31, 2004

  • 5thPresident
    Tien T. Tsong (Taipei)

    January 1, 2005 - December 31, 2007

  • 6thPresident
    Jie Zhang (Beijing)

    January 1, 2008 - December 31, 2010

  • 7thPresident
    Shoji Nagamiya (Japan)

    January 1, 2011 - December 31, 2013

  • 8thPresident
    Seunghwan Kim (Korea)

    January 1, 2014 - December 31, 2016

  • 9thPresident
    Gui-Lu Long (Beijing)

    January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2019

  • 10thPresident
    Jun'ichi Yokoyama (Japan)

    January 1, 2020 - December 31, 2022