Announcement! l About AAPPS l l l Activities l Award l AAPPS Bulletin l Community Forum l Links
The AAPPS-APCTP Chen Ning...


The AAPPS-APCTP Chen Ning Yang Award

The AAPPS Chen Ning Yang Award

  The idea to create the AAPPS (Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies) Prize or Award was first discussed at the Third Council meeting held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in August 1992. It was noticed that it is important to encourage young physicists in the Asia/Pacific region and to introduce excellent activities in the region around.

  In the second term of the AAPPS Council (1994 – 1997) creation of the AAPPS Award of Physics was approved as follows:
  a. The AAPPS Award is given at the occasion of the Asia Pacific Physics Conference (APPC) to   
      outstanding young physicists in the country/region where the APPC is held.
  b. The candidates of awardees are selected by the member society of the AAPPS organizing         
      the  APPC (the host society).
  c. The criteria for selection are decided by the host society.
  d. The awardees are approved by the Ordinary General Meeting following to the recommendation by  
      the host society.
  e. The President of the AAPPS awards the AAPPS Award at the APPC.

  The Seventh APPC was decided to be held in Beijing, China in August 1997. Then the Chinese Physical Society (the Executive Committee of the 7APPC chaired by Professor Zhao Zhong Xian) selected two candidates of awardees. Both candidates were approved by the Third Ordinary General Meeting of the AAPPS held on 18 August 1997.

  The first AAPPS Award was given to two graduate students in China from the AAPPS President at the Closing Ceremony of the 7APPC.

  The awardees and their subjects were Mr. Wu Jian (Department of Physics, Tsinghua University) by his contribution on ¡°the electron transport through mesoscopic systems¡± and Mr. Yang Haitao (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences) by his contribution on the development of 4.2K high vacuum scanning tunneling microscope and its applications to high temperature superconductors.

  Professor Chen Ning Yang was the Chairperson of the Ad Hoc Group for the Formation of the AAPPS from 1988 to August 1990 and the First President of the AAPPS from 11 August 1990 to 2 July 1994.

  He worked as a Council member of the AAPPS in the Second term and retired from the Council at the end of 1997. The Council acknowledged his long-standing contribution for the AAPPS and conferred him the title of Honorary President. At the same time the AAPPS Award of Physics was renamed as the AAPPS Chen Ning Yang Award.


  The past awardees for the AAPPS C.N.Yang Award 

1st (7th APPC in Beijing, August 1997)
     1. Jian Wu: Dept of Physics, Tsinghua Univ, China
     2. Haitao Yang: IOP, CAS, China

2nd (8th APPC in Taipei, August 2000)
     1. Chi-Kuang Sun: Dept of Electric Engineering, Nat'l Taiwan Univ, Taiwan
     2. Rong-Li Lo:Dept of Physics, Nat'l TsingHuaUniv, Taiwan

3rd (9th APPC in Hanoi, October 2004)
     1. Phan Ngoc Minh: IMS, VAST, Vietnam
     2. Nguyen HuuDuc: College of Applied Sciences and Technology, Vietnam Nat'l Univ, Vietanam

4th (10th APPC in Pohang, August, 2007)
     1. Hyun-Su Lee : University of Chicago, USA
     2. Hong-SeokLee :Yonsei University, Korea
     3. Ji HoonShim : Rutgers University, USA

5th (11th APPC in Shanghai, November, 2010)
      1. Dong-Lai Feng :Fudan University, China
      2. ZhongFang : Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
      3. XianfengChen : Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

6th(12th APPC in Chiba, July, 2013)
      1. Jun Cao : Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
      2. Bae Ho Park :Konkuk University, Korea
      3. Toshiro Kaneko : Tohoku University, Japan
      4. Masahide Yamaguchi : Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

7th (13th APPC in Brisbane, 2016)
      1. Ling Lu:Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
      2. Marcus William Doherty :Australian National University, Australia
      3. Takao Sasagawa :Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

8th (14th APPC in Kuching, Malaysia, 2019)

Awardees of C.N.Yang Award at APPC14

Igor AHARONOVICH (University of Technology Sydney)

"For his pioneering studies of quantum emitters in two-dimensional materials and wide bandgap semiconductors."

Aharonovich's group explores new quantum emitters in widebandgap materials and aims to fabricate quantum nanophotonicdevices on single chips for the next generation's quantum computing, quantum cryptography, and quantum bio-sensing needs. In 2016, Aharonovich led his team to discover the first quantum emitter in 2D materials operating at room temperature. He co-authored more than 100 peer-reviewed
publications, including one of the most cited reviews on diamond photonics. More recently, he has led his team to realize a new generation of plasmonic devices.

Xiong-Jun LIU (Peking University)

"For his outstanding contributions to ultracold atomic research, in realizing an original quantum simulation for synthetic gauge field and topological quantum phases."

Liu is one of the pioneers in quantum simulation for synthetic gauge field andtopological quantum phases. He proposed the first model of the (quantum) spin Hall effect for ultracold atoms and has successfully realized one-dimensional spin-orbit coupling (Abelian synthetic gauge field) and two-dimensional spin-orbit coupling (non-Abelian synthetic gauge field) for ultracold atoms, in addition to establishing a systematic theory for realizing, engineering, and detecting topological phases. These works have advanced quantum simulation for synthetic gauge field and topological quantum phases to a highly active and broadly recognized research topic in ultracold atoms. Importantly, for condensed matter physics, he proposed the concept of symmetry protected non-Abelian statistics of Majorana zero modes in topological superconductors, which has added a new family member of non-Abelian statistics to quantum statistics and has fundamentally overturned the traditional view of non-Abelian statistics. His works have creatively changed the theory and has had a crucial impacton the related experimental investigations.

Song HE (Institute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

"For his critical role in advancing the understanding of the scattering amplitudes in gauge theories, gravity, and string theory."

Song He has played a key role in recent advances in better understanding the scattering amplitudes in gauge theories, gravity, and string theory. He is renowned for discovering new ways of computing scattering amplitudes and unraveling their elegant mathematical structures and hidden relations. Since Witten's celebrated proposal of twistorstring theory in 2003, there has been enormous progress in computing and understanding the scattering amplitudes of quantum field theory (QFT), which is conceivably the foundation of particlephysics. In this fast-growing frontier of theoretical high energy physics, Song He's works not only enable more precise predictions of the Standard Model for high-energy experiments, such as the LHC, but also shed new light on the structures of QFT and the fundamental issues in quantum gravity and string theory.
  E-mail /
AAPPS Bulletin
▶ Message from
▶ AAPPS Bulletin
    Editorial Board
▶ AAPPS Bulletin
Member Societies
▶ Historical
▶ Council
▶ Constitution
▶ Message from
▶ Contact us
Copyright ⓒ 2008 Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies. All rights reserved.